My Funny Valentine

Funny balentong is more apt. Nabalentong ako.

I had a great morning until I tripped and fell flat on the ground. A little Olympic maneuver saved the left side of Potling’s home a.k.a. my gigantic tummy. What caused the fall? Nothing. Just me and my funny bones. Hah.

Aside from the excruciating pain from my sprained ankle, only one thing worried me – Potling stopped moving. She was doing her usual good-morning-world-i-will-kick-you-all routine before the accident and when she didn’t move twenty minutes after I fell, I panicked. Yes, there were tears.

After almost 8 hours of being poked, examined and monitored at the Labor Room (my first time!), Potling and I were released. We’re ok. But since I can barely walk, Sharksfin and I will have to stay inside the house tomorrow.

Oh we had great plans. Simple but special (at least for me) plans. We’re supposed to attend a very special PAG-IBIG seminar (no pun intended), buy the rest of the contents of our maternity bag and his first wrench set for Bogart’s long-overdue oil change. Bogart is his homosexual mistress. Peace!

So what’s the date today?

Valentine’s and I are not meant to be. Even before Sharksfin and I were married, we never really celebrated valentine’s day together. There was really no need, as our anniversary date is Feb 17. But I’m still like most women – Feb 14 is more important to me than my birthday. Unlike most women though, I just don’t know how to make a scene when I don’t receive any love offerings on Cupid’s day. Harhar.

Before January ended, I was already thinking that my lifetime hearts’ day curse will finally come to an end. I was thinking that I am now married, I am almost a mom… what could go wrong? My husband and I have our own space and lots of time to spare.

And then I tripped.

And the last reminder of one of the doctors that took care of me was…

No sexual contact please.

Happy heart’s day to all!